benefits  appointments  location  pricing  services   studio  sessions  tandem  f.a.q
                                                    exchange links       men's health  your comments appreciated 

ALABAMA enacted 1996
ARKANSAS enacted 1951
CONNECTICUT enacted 1993
DELAWARE enacted 1993
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA enacted 1994
FLORIDA enacted 1943
HAWAII enacted 1947
IOWA enacted 1992
LOUISIANA enacted 1992
MAINE enacted 1991
MARYLAND enacted 1996
MISSISSIPPI enacted 2001
MISSOURI enacted 1998
NEBRASKA enacted 1958
NEW HAMPSHIRE enacted 1980
NEW JERSEY enacted 1998
NEW MEXICO enacted 1991
NEW YORK enacted 1967
NORTH CAROLINA enacted 1998
NORTH DAKOTA enacted 1959
OHIO enacted 1916
OREGON enacted 1971
RHODE ISLAND enacted 1979
SOUTH CAROLINA enacted 1996
TENNESSEE enacted 1995
TEXAS enacted 1985
UTAH enacted 1981
VIRGINIA enacted 1996
WASHINGTON enacted 1976
WEST VIRGINIA enacted 1997
WISCONSIN enacted 1998

                          

                                  Massage Practice Laws 
                                              
by State 


                                           Information Guide                        
                                                                                    A state-by-state compendium of actual laws 
                                                                                with contact names and other valuable information

                           benefits  appointments  location  pricing  services   studio  sessions  tandem  f.a.q
                                   men's health  your comments appreciated   exchange links

Note: The state of New Jersey has passed laws that are not yet in effect. For more information, click here. 
The state of Minnesota and the state of California have Freedom of Access laws in effect:


Minnesota:
(651) 282-5623
Title/Type of Credential:
State license is not required. Title must describe practice used.
Required Education:
Compliance with Minnesota statute 146A, including Client Bill of Rights and prohibited conduct.

California:
Title/Type of Credenture:
State license is not required. Municipal requirements may apply.
Required Education:
Specified prohibitions of activity, written disclosure and record keeping.

 

Regulatory Board Education Requirements Fees Reciprocity Continuing Education Requirements Exam
Alabama Board of Massage Therapy

660 Adams Avenue, Suite 150
Montgomery, AL 36104-0056


(334) 269-9990
(334) 263-6115 (fax)

650 hours: 325 hours of basic massage therapy and clinical practice; 100 hours of anatomy, pathology and physiology; 50 hours of related coursework (after 12/31/97, 650 hours will be required; after 12/31/01, 1000 hours will be required) Application: $25.00

Licensing: $100.00

Renewal: $100.00

On a state by state basis; each is reviewed by board Yes; renewal is biannual NCETMB
Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy

PO Box 20739
103 Airway
Hot Springs, AR 71913


(501) 623-0444

500 hours from an accredited massage therapy school or similar institution Registration: $75.00

Exam: $25.00

No 6 hours a year (by June 30) approved by state board State exam (written law and practical sections) state or NCETMB
Connecticut

Massage Therapy Licensure
Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue - MS# 12APP
PO Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308

(860) 509-7570
(860) 509-8457 (fax)

500 hours from a school accredited by an accrediting agency and a curriculum approved by COMTA Application: $300.00

Annual renewal: $100.00

No No NCETMB
Delaware Board of Massage and Bodywork

861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Dover, DE 19904

(302) 739-4522
(302) 739-2711 (fax)

Two tiers -

100 hours: certified massage technician

500 hours: licensed massage therapist

500 hours of supervised study; 100 hours of anatomy and physiology; 300 hours of technique and theory; 100 hours of electives; CPR required

Application: $25.00

Licensing: $69.00 for 2 years

Certification: TBD

Yes 12 hours every two years for technician 

24 hours for therapists

NCETMB
District of Columbia Massage Therapy Board

Occupational and Professional Licensing Administration
Attn: Branch Chief
941 N. Capitol St. NE      Ste 7243 
Washington, DC 20002

(202) 422-9200

Minimum 500 hours of training N/A N/A N/A NCETMB
Florida Department of Health

Northwood Center
1940 North Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0774

(850) 488-0595
(850) 922-6959 (fax)

500 hours from state board approved school or completed 1,453 hours apprentice program.
3 hours HIV / Aids ed.
Application: $150.00 No 12 hours every two years and 3 hours HIV/AIDS update classes NCETMB
State of Hawaii

Professional and Vocational Licensing Division

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
PO Box 3469
Honolulu, HI 96801

(808) 586-3000
(808) 586-2689 (fax)

570 hours: 50 hours of anatomy, physiology and kinesiology; 100 hours of theory and demonstration; 420 hours of practical training; must spend a minimum of 6 months as an apprentice in an AMTA or Rolf Institute School Exam: $80.00

Application: $50.00

License Fee:
$60.00/yr

No Renewal every even-numbered year State exam
Iowa Department of Public Health

Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
Lucas State Office Building
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319

(515) 281-6959, (515) 281-7074 or
(515) 242-5936
(515) 281-3121 (fax)

500 hours from a state-licensed or accredited school approved by the department; 100 hours of anatomy and physiology; 400 hours of other subjects including first aid and CPR Application: $100.00

(Bi-annual)

Yes 12 hours by September 30 of odd-numbered years NCETMB
Louisiana Board of Massage Therapists

PO Box 1279
Zachary, LA 70791

(225) 658-8941
(504) 658-8496 (fax)

500 hours supervised course of instruction at an approved school. Oral exam:
$75.00

Professional license:
$50.00

Yes, if meets Louisiana's requirements 12 hours/yr NCETMB, state oral exam
Maine

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation

Licensing and Enforcement Division
35 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0035

(207) 624-8612
(207) 624-8637 (fax)

500 hours, Exam or diploma from a massage training program accredited or approved by COMTA Application: $25.00

Registration (yearly): $100.00

Yes if other statesí requirements are met. none NCETMB or

diploma from a COMTA training program

Maryland Board of Chiropractic Examiners

4201 Patterson Avenue, 5th floor
Baltimore, MD 21215-2299

(410) 764-4726
(410) 358-1879 (fax)

500 hours that include anatomy and physiology, massage therapy techniques and practice contraindications for massage therapy $100 application

$200 certificate

Yes No TBD
Missouri State Board of Therapeutic Massage

PO Box 1335
Jefferson City, Mo
65102-1335

(573) 522-6277
(573) 751-0735 (fax)

         
Mississippi 

601-856-6127

700 hours
written exam
$125 NCETMB
Nebraska

Health and Human Services Credentialing Division
PO Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

(402) 471-2117 or (402) 471-4927
(402) 471-3577 (fax)

1,000 hours:

physiology: 100 hours,

anatomy: 100 hours,

massage: 100 hours,

pathology: 100 hours,

hydrotherapy: 100 hours,

hygiene/practical demo: 100 hrs,

health service mgmt: 100 hours,

clinical practice of massage therapy: 300 hours

Renewal: $252.00 every two years.

$102.00 for application

Yes; states with substantially similar rules and laws 18 hours approved by state board every two years NCETMB
New Hampshire Office of Program Support

Health Facilities Administration
6 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301-6527

(603) 271-0277
(603) 271-5590 (fax)

High school diploma or GED plus graduation from school of massage; 750 hours: 150 hours of anatomy and physiology; 50 hours of massage; 50 hours of hydrotherapy; 175 hours of Swedish and related modalities; 10 hours of rules and ethics; 50 hours of allied massage techniques; 50 hours of hygiene; 25 hours of health services management; 125 hours of practical massage; 65 hours of electives; CPR certification also required Initial license: $125 (includes state test);

Renewals: $100

No 12 hours every two years should increase with the next 6 months to 24 hours NCETMB and state practical exam

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Jersey Board of Nursing

PO Box 45010
Newark, NJ 07101
Phone: (973)504-6430
Fax:  (973)648-3481
Attn:  Massage, Bodywork & Somatic Therapy Mailing List
Fact Sheet can be found at:  http://www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/
nursing/mass.htm
       
New Mexico

Board of Massage Therapy
Regulation and Licensing Department
PO Box 25101
Santa Fe, NM 87504

(505) 476-7090 / 7089
(505) 476-7095 (fax)

650 hours see web site

Alternative qualifications:
See web application - 500 MT; 150 hours alternative qualifying ed.

Initial application: $50.00

$25.00 before exam (temps)

Initial licensing: $150.00

Jurisprudence exam:

$10.00

Annual renewal: $125.00

No 16 hours approved by state board every two years NCETMB and take home jurisprudence
New York State Board of Massage Therapy

Cultural Education Center, Room 3041
Albany, NY 12230

(518) 473-1417 or (518) 474-3866
(518) 473-6995 (fax)

H.S. Graduate. Graduate of a New York school program or equivalent program; 1000 hours: 100 pathology, 200 miology, 60 first aid/cpr, 150 oriental/western theory (50 in each)325 theory & practice (including 150 w/patient) see web site Exam: $180.00

Application: $100.00

Yes; if licensed in a state with substantially similar requirements and practicing massage for at least two years No State exam
North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy

PO Box 2539
Raleigh, NC 27602

(919) 546-0050
(919) 833-1059 (fax)

         
North Dakota Massage Board

PO Box 701
Dickenson, ND 58601
(701) 225-3906

750 hours

COMTA approved school or take NCETMB exam w/500 hrs at non-approved.

Application: $150.00, state board exam: $150.00 No 18 hours per year State exam
Ohio

State Medical Board
77 South High Street, 17th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215

(614) 466-3934
(614) 466-4670 (fax)

Certification of high school graduation; 600 hours over 12 months from an approved school Application: $250.00

Exam: $250.00

 

No

No State exam
Oregon Board of Massage Technicians

State Office Building
3218 Pringle Road SE. Suite 250
Salem, OR 97232

(503) 365-8657
(503) 378-3575 (fax)

500 hours effective 1/1/99 Renewal: $80.00

Application: $40.00

 

No 12 hours every two years plus current CPR NCETMB
Rhode Island Department of Health

Division of Professional Regulation
Room 104
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097

(401) 222-2827
(401) 222-1272 (fax)

Graduate of a COMTA accredited or approved training program of at least 500 hours: 100 hours of anatomy and physiology; 300 hours of theory and practice of massage; 100 hours of electives Licensing: $50.00 Endorsement approved

-have to apply to other State

No NCETMB
South Carolina Department of Labor Licensing and Regulation

PO Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329 or
110 Centerview Drive
Koger Business Center
Columbia, SC 29210

(803) 896-4494
(803) 896-4484 (fax)

500 hours from an accredited school Application: $150.00

Licensing: $100.00

Renewal: $200.00/
2Years

Yes; states with substantially similar rules and laws 12 hours every 2 years NCETMB
Tennessee Massage Licensure Board

425 Fifth Avenue North
First Floor
Cordell Hull Building
Nashville, TN 37247-1010

(615) 532-5096 or (888) 310-4650
(615) 532-5369 (fax)

500 hours from a state-approved school TBD

License: $335.00 for 2 years

Yes; states with similar rules and laws.

-Have to apply to other States

12.5 hours hours each NCETMB or may qualify by meeting education requirements
Texas Department of Health

Massage Therapy Registration Program
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756

(512) 834-6616
(512) 834-6677 (fax)

300 hours; 125 of Swedish massage therapy techniques; 50 hours of anatomy; 25 hours of physiology; 15 hours of business practice or professional ethics; 20 hours of health and hygiene; 50-hour internship Application: $53.00

Exam: $130.00

No 6 hours
each year
State exam (written and practical)
State of Utah Department of Commerce

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Heber M. Wells Building
160 E. 300 South, Fourth Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84144 or
PO Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741

(801) 530-6628
(801) 530-6511 (fax)

Graduation from an apprenticeship program, IMF or COMTA accredited or approved training program or NCETMB certification or 1,000 hours over 12 months Application: $75.00

Utah Theory Exam: $65.00

Utah Law and Rule Exam: $55.00

No No NCETMB and Utah Theory Exam and Utah Law and Rule Exam
Virginia Board of Nursing

6606 West Broad Street, 4th floor
Richmond, VA 23230

(804) 662-9909
(804) 662-9512 (fax)

500 hours Application: $40.00

Bi-annual renewal fee

$50.00

Yes; license or endorsement certificate No NCETMB
State of Washington Department of Health

HPQA Division Health Professions
1300 SW Quince St.
PO Box 47868
Olympia, WA 98504-7868

(360) 236-4866
(360) 664-9077 (fax)

Board approved program

500 hours: 120 hours anatomy, physiology, kinesiology; 50 hours pathology; 265 hours theory and practice of massage; 55 hours of clinic/business practices

License: $55.00

Exam: $150.00

Annual renewal fee $40.00

Yes; states with substantially similar rules and laws 16 hours every two years NCETMB
State of West Virginia
West Virginia Massage Therapy Licensure Board
1101 6th Avenue, Suite 222
Huntington, WV 25701
 
(304)528-5551
Graduation from a COMTA-approved or state approved school. TBD TBD TBD NCETMB

 

 

 

Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing

Secretary, Marlene Cummings
1400 E. Washington Ave.
Madison, WI 53703

(608) 266-0145
(608) 266-2112

(608) 267-7083 (fax)

600 classroom hours of study in course of instruction at an EAB approved school Registration: $44.00

Exam: $39.00

2 Year Renewal: $44.00

Yes, but need to meet Wisconsin's requirements No continued ed requests NCETMB; State jurispudence exam

Please note: The above listings and the Practice Laws Information Guide reflect information available at the time of publication. Please contact each board directly to obtain the most current information.

For the states not listed above, refer to local or county government.

There are some 3,100 counties and 7,200 cities, towns, townships, and villages in the United States, as listed in County Executive Directory and Municipal Executive Directory (Caroll Publishing Co., Washington, DC, updated several times a year). Your local public library should have these or similar directories. You can easily and quickly obtain contact addresses and phone numbers for any local or county official, sometimes just by telephoning your library. Usually the city attorney, mayor, or county commissionerís office is the contact which will provide direct information about the regulation of massage practice.

For additional information, contact the AMTA chapter in the state. It may also be helpful to contact an AMTA massage therapist practicing in the locality.

Local laws may apply even in states with or without statewide licensing. In addition to massage ordinances and statutes, local business and zoning laws must be checked before setting up a massage practice.

If you experience difficulty in contacting any of the above state boards, please call AMTA for assistance at (847) 864-0123.

 

           men's health  your comments appreciated   exchange links

    713 . 802 . 0439                                              Heights Studio

       benefits  appointments  location  pricing  services   studio  sessions  tandem  f.a.q